That’s the Way the Toilet Paper Rolls

It didn’t even occur to me that there was more than one way to put toilet paper on the holder or that someone would prefer one way over the other until I heard the hosts of a morning radio show discuss it on my way to school one morning in high school. I was dumbfounded that they had more than a few callers-in who adamantly, as if a matter of morality, declared that one way was better. And now I am ashamed to admit that it drives me secretly crazy when the free end of the TP comes from underneath instead of on top. It’s irrational, I know.

This is not a passive aggressive roommate note, I promise. I know I’m crazy. I deal with it.

What this is is an observation about just how crazy I am. How is it that I can so strongly prefer one thing over another, when at one point in my life I was completely oblivious of its existence?

Toilet Paper Holder

How’s this for a toilet paper holder?

The way the toilet paper sits on its holder, jelly in the peanut butter jar, the way one builds a campfire…

I have created my ways of doing things and developed my preferences throughout my 28 years here and you know what? Just as easily as they were created and developed, they can change.

So when I have a hard time finding the end of the toilet paper because it’s hiding on the backside of the roll waiting to come out from the disease-ridden TP cave in the bathroom wall, I take a deep breath, resist the urge to turn the roll around and remind myself that everything’s okay.

Maybe one day I’ll prefer it that way…

Naahhh… Let’s not get too crazy!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “That’s the Way the Toilet Paper Rolls

  1. Eva Goodreau

    I will admit it: I like the free end of the TP to come from over the top of the roll! I did change directions when one of my children decided to drop the end of the roll into the toilet, flushing and watching the roll unwind into the winding water of the flush. I found him laughing in the bathroom completely entertained by this bowl action. For whatever reason, this action did not work as well coming from underneath. (Perhaps it was the lack of height?) The change was necessary at the time. But it did go back to the position of coming over the top once the interest in the TP toilet twist subsided.

Whaddaya think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

