Speaking of True Love

When I was a middle schooler, even more awkward than I am today (if you can believe it), I had my aunt to thank for a lot of my street cred (which I think I just lost for saying street cred).

“Oh, yeah, my aunt recorded a CD, whatever. She’s gonna be famous.”

And I can’t even begin to tell you how I begged and pleaded and cried and whined to be able to go see her play in coffee shops and any other venues that allowed me. If my mom said yes, I would try to look as cool as possible. This usually meant that I would dig out my overalls with the rose embroidered on the front pocket. I’m lucky I wore a uniform to school daily, otherwise those overalls would have been worn out. I digress.

The point is, she drove a VW bug with a sun roof, bought Big Gulps, played guitar in coffee shops and had boyfriends named Forest (I honestly do not remember anything else about him, except that his name was Forest). She was cool, she was fun… and she was MY. AUNT.

Now I’m a little less awkward and slightly older and I don’t know where my rose-embroidered overalls are. But one thing I do know is that my aunt is still cool and fun (though no more VW bugs or boyfriends with funny names) and she still writes wonderful music that I would beg and plead and cry and whine to see her play.

So without further ado, ladies and gentlemen, Michele Ryan…

She is on a mission to record her second album of love songs for the whole family called ‘Home Now.’ All of her leg work is done and she is so close to her finished product and now needs the support of her community, her network, her family and friends to get these songs out to a world, who doesn’t know it yet, but needs them. So listen and fall in love and bring ‘Home Now’ to life!

Categories: Family, Heart on My Sleeve, Shameless Plugs | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Speaking of True Love

  1. Aunt Mary

    Where was I when someone named Forest was in the picture? I may not remember that, but I remember all the rest, including the overalls. Actually, one other thing I don’t remember is you ever being awkward! Nice share, Miss Maddy.

    • Aunt Denise

      Forest is from the “Hava Java” days, if I recall correctly.

  2. Aunt Denise

    Lovely post, Maddy.

  3. Terry

    Hey Maddy, Michele’s neighbor and fellow SW here….on Michele’s recommendation, really enjoying your blogs ….hope school is good. Enjoy.

Whaddaya think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

