Things That I Wish I Had Written: Installment One

There was a storm in Chicago yesterday and while working from home (mostly watching Dawson’s Creek on Netflix and eating hummus and chips), I found myself, as usual, trying to figure out what this storm meant to me. I was surprised by its strength, the angrily loud thunder, how quickly it came and left, the way that it cooled the entire city, the orange-y-gray sky that it brought with it… There was something about the storm that moved me, but I couldn’t quite pinpoint it.

While I love writing, I acknowledge that I am still growing. Sometimes my words fall short and I can’t say exactly what it is I want to, mostly because I don’t know what it is I want to say. And when I come across a song, an essay, a meaningful sentence, or an entire book that makes me wish that I was better, that I could express myself the way that they do, that I could have the clarity, insight and humor that they have, instead of making me jealous, it inspires me.

I have found myself with a bit of a writer’s block recently, so I have decided I’ll share with you some of the things that I wish that I would have had the skill and courage to write. Some of the things that inspire me to write more, even if it isn’t as good.

Without further ado, the first installment is from The (previously featured) Belle Brigade. You know me and my love of metaphors. Try this on for size. It’s called “Shirt”.

 I am dry, I’m your shirt, and I’ve been hung out on a line
And I have designs so if you stain me, I will still seem fine
But really, you’re just wearing me out
Yeah really, you’re just wearing me out

Yeah I’ve been told, my momma said, I wear my heart on my sleeve
But I try to hide and roll it up, but every time it comes back creased
And no one is gonna iron me out
No, no one is gonna straighten me out

Yeah one of these days, it’s coming on
I think that I might just unfold
I’ll rip the seams and tear some holes
And I’ll probably get sold
But no one’s gonna wear me out
No, no one’s gonna wanna wear me out

Yeah one of these days, you’ll put me on
I might not fit you anymore
But I won’t mind, I’ll always find
My way into another drawer
And no one’s gonna wear me out
No, no one’s gonna wanna wear me out

I am dry, I’m your shirt, and I’ve been hung out on a line

Categories: The Art of Writing, Things That I Wish I Had Written, What's a Metaphor? | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Whaddaya think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

