The Mysteries of Water Pressure

I do not understand the technology of plumbing. And I don’t really care to because my ignorance of it results in sheer amazement that this magical technology makes water defy gravity, move through the pipes upward from the tub faucet to the shower head, and shoot out in many, small yet powerful streams that rinse my hair of shampoo and conditioner, with just the pull of a little lever of sorts. My appreciation for this effortless technology would be depleted if I understood it and if it had not been ripped from my hands. Read on.

The water pressure in our shower is deplorable. It’s like being spit on repeatedly by someone who doesn’t care about spitting on you– as if he/she has something better to do. After pulling the little lever at the top of the tub faucet, it sometimes takes as long as two minutes* for the water elves to make the water start coming out of the shower head. The weird thing is, the water isn’t coming out of the tub either. I don’t know where it’s going.

*Possibly exaggerated; I don’t have a waterproof watch with which to time this process.

Then when it finally starts to come out of the shower head, its lackluster streams leave something a real shower to be desired. So then, I try to trick the water elves. I move the faucet all the way over to cold. “Just kidding, guys, I really wanted to take a cold shower today.” The power behind the streams pick up and I switch it back real quick to the warm water. It works. The water pressure improves with the warm water. I get to take a warm shower, with better-than-before-but-still-sub-standard water pressure.

This type of problem-solving falls into the same category as blowing into Nintendo games when they’re messing up– no real reason why you try to fix it this way, except that you don’t know what else to do, and no real understanding of how it might help, but it does, so you do it.

In spite of my daily battle with our shower and our temperamental water elves, this experience has made me that much more appreciative of the magic of plumbing, when it works.

Mr. Sink Face

Don't worry, I appreciate you!

Photo credit: http://www.huffingtonpost.com

Categories: Day to Day, Mere Musings, Troubleshooting | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Mysteries of Water Pressure

  1. I love this post. I laughed until I snorted coffee out of my nose. Then I got mad because I LOVE coffee and I just wasted some. Then I read your blog again and laughed once more.

  2. I don’t know if I laughed harder at your post or your friend’s response. As a coffee lover myself….. I appreciated her sense of loss.

Whaddaya think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

