To Plan or Not to Plan

At this time last week, I found myself lamenting the fact that I had no weekend plans yet. Maybe some friends were going to be in town and we would go out to dinner. There was a possibility of maybe going to a concert, that I didn’t know the location of and knew nothing of the band. So, when it came down to it, I had nothing.

But last weekend ended up being the greatest. I went to see a movie and hung out with some new people, which is always exciting. (By the way, The Hangover, hilarious. Recommendation: Leave the parents and the children at home. If you are a parent or a child, go with caution, if at all). I went to see a great Dodger game, they won it in the bottom of the 12th on an Ethier homerun. And I spent a beautiful Sunday afternoon at a very Tomzynski birthday party, involving BBQ, kupkakes (you’d get it if you were Polish, *wink*), and Jim’s potato salad with just a touch of horseradish…. mmmm.

KUPKAKES!

After finishing the Kupkake decorating, Katie says, "I don't think I should have decorated them this way."

Though I am certain that you are enthralled with how I spent my weekend, the point of all that was to set up this blog entry. Is it better to plan or not to plan?

By nature, I am a planner. I like to know what to expect at all times. I’m not as rigid in my planning as some; I can allow for variances of plans. But generally speaking, some equivalence of a plan is necessary. Among non-planners I try to keep it in check, to go with the flow a little more, but sometimes I can’t help myself. However, as exemplified by my experience last weekend, a plan is not always necessary and impromptu outings and interactions can be more enjoyable than those planned. So what is a planner to do?

“The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men gang aft agley.” or in other words “The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry.” A couplet from Robert Burns’s poem “To a Mouse,” which has been adapted as a proverb to illustrate the pointlessness of planning. And the ironic thing is, that it came up as I was talking to my dad about this blog post. Planning at its finest.

After our conversation took us down the road of the big picture life plan versus the smaller plan of what to do on a day off and discussing how planless days end with feeling crappy about life because we have ended up spending too much time in front of the TV, his advice was to have a plan in all cases. In a paraphrase, “Maddo, it’s better to have a plan that gets thrown by the wayside than to be without one at all.” And that was his advice from the moment I brought it up.

So I guess the answer to this question, along with most of life’s dilemmas, is moderation. Plan in moderation. Plan what you can and let God do the rest.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “To Plan or Not to Plan

  1. Diana O'Brien

    Great job on the kupcakes!

  2. Diana O'Brien

    I mean krapcakes.

Whaddaya think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

