Making Lists

Perhaps I have been inspired by the new age of communication, where thoughts are expressed in status updates and text messages; in any case, I have found myself thinking in lists recently.

In fact I just started a new journal, which I have titled “Maddy’s Book of Lists”. Original, I know. Making lists from life’s questions, might seem a rather simplistic way to address the quarter-lifer’s larger than life issues, but to me it seems like the only way that isn’t completely overwhelming. Besides, it is the perfect blend of left and right brain activity. And for a person who is a feeler and a thinker, such things are difficult to come by.

The lists range in subject matter, from “The List of  Things To Do With These 3 Hours that Just Became Free In My Day”, to “The List of Lists That I Want to Make”, to “The List of Things I Want To Be Able To Do For Myself Before I Die (as they relate to funding)”. Occassionally I will post these lists here. But, without further ado, here is the debut list:

The List of Things that I Have Always Thought:

1. That my family is the best family in the world. Nobody has proven me wrong yet.

2. That people are naturally good, even though some people have tried to convince me otherwise.

3. That money is stupid.

4. That my career would involve being in contact with people, as opposed to being couped up in a cubicle all day.

5. That I would be married and have kids by the time I was 30. I’m not so sure about that one anymore. Only time will tell.

6. That silver jewelry is cool. Learned that one from my mother.

7. That the truth is the easiest thing to tell. I think it’s because I’m really bad at lying.

8. That having strong friendships is the one solution that can apply to all of life’s problems. Just think about it, what is the one thing that could solve a broken down car on the highway and a broken heart. I’ll give you a hint, it’s not jumper cables.

9. That God invented oreos with me in mind.

10. That the world’s problems could be boiled down to two solutions: better education and communication.

As with all lists from here on out, please add your own in the comments  section.

Categories: Life in Lists, Mere Musings | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Making Lists

  1. Aunt Michele (and sponsor)

    My list of things I love about Maddy

    1. Of all the children in her immediate family, she was the one who came into the world looking like a Goodreau (but you know I love them all like my own)

    2. She is my first born’s God Mother not to mention my confirmation sponsee. (I know that isn’t really a word.)

    3. She loves my kids.

    4. I hope they grow up to be just like her.

  2. theoldman

    Maddo,
    I’m thinking about#3 and #10. Fixation on money can be bondage and a source anxiety for anyone “rich” or “poor”. I suppose if one thinks too hard or too long about it, money can seem “stupid”- a mere social construct, just pieces of paper with no intrinsic value. But I’m afraid that idea can become another fixation -not helpful.

    As for #10 – there are far too many well educated communicators who use their powers for evil not good.

    Oh I forgot #2 – people are “naturally” a mixed bag of good and bad. goodness and decency must be taught and fostered and rewarded. loveya

    • thejoblesswonder

      To address your concerns, Pops:

      #3 Money is stupid in that it is the most obvious thing holding me back from doing everything that I want to do. I want to travel, I want to go to school for the rest of my life, I want to have a dresser is my room so I don’t have to live out of suitcases anymore… well, money’s not really the barrier on that one. In any case, it is my lack of money (paired with a few other personal problems) that prevent me from doing such things. So though it is a source of anxiety at times, I wouldn’t call it a fixation. When I’m laughing with people I love, money is not even close to being on my mind. Not to worry.

      #10 I would like to qualify “better communication” by saying honest communication. If those evil, well-educated communicators were taught to communicate honestly, and goodness and decency were taught, fostered and rewarded in them (better education), our world’s problems would be solved, or at least made better.

      #2 Fair enough.

  3. theoldman

    mads, comments were more reflection than critique… happyto see the response just the same! i have more to say about money but i think and type too slowly. i’ll be back later. loveya

  4. Aunt Mary

    I definitely agree with everything on your list, but I must say – #8 is truly profound! I love it! You must never, never, NEVER stop writing!

Whaddaya think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

