If My Job Search Was a Door, It Would Remain Ajar.

Though the title of this blog may bring to mind a punny joke,

When is a door not a door?

When it is ajar.

I assure you, there is no joke in that statement. I may have jobs and I am bringing in an income, but I worry about my future, my goals, and my debts on a daily basis. And the thought of sales tax and personal income tax increasing throws me into a minor panic every time it enters my mind.

The state of the economy paired with my illogical commitment to working in a field that will pay me nothing, led me to work multiple part-time jobs in local non-profits. I can appreciate the variety of work that I’m doing, in that it is allowing me the opportunity to meet lots of amazing people and helping me to discern what I like, what I don’t like, what I’m good at, and what I could use a little more practice in. The reality is it offers no medical insurance, no sick days, and no vacation time. With no insurance and no sick days available, I’m lucky I’m not Irish, and Murphy’s law doesn’t apply to Polish girls.

Though I’ve made some amount of commitment to the jobs that I have, and I was raised to honor commitment, I can’t help but let my mind wander into a future of full-time employment, medical coverage, and some amount of stability. There’s got to be a balance between doing what’s best for me and holding up my end of the bargain.

Categories: It's Only Temporary, Look at Me, I'm Growing!, People Pay Me For This! | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Whaddaya think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

