Viva Los Dodgers!

This post is mostly unrelated to job searching and the realities of a life inbetween, but I promise it will be interesting and I will tie it in to the general life searching theme of this blog.

The voice of the Dodgers.

The voice of the Dodgers.

Top seven reasons I love the Dodgers, in no particular order:

1. It’s in my blood to be a fan. The Dodgers are a family value in my family. It goes God, Grandma, the Dodgers. (When it’s not baseball season, music takes number three, except of course, when it’s football season, then the number three spot goes to the Steelers, but that’s neither here nor there).

2. They are the best looking team in baseball. Have you seen Andre Ethier?

3.  I have a nostalgia for them. It was such a treat to go to Dodger games growing up. I associate the Dodgers with one-on-one time with the adults in my family, which was cool since there were/are so many kids.

4. Manny Ramirez. I have to admit that I am following the Dodgers a lot closer since Manny’s been a boy in blue. He brings such a light-hearted and fun vibe to the team and I love it!

5. Also, living out of LA for a couple years, and attending baseball games at other stadiums and for other teams, I began to miss the Dodgers. So I learned that I loved them when I left them. Absence makes the heart grow fonder, I guess it’s true.

6. They like each other and it’s obvious. I love it when the camera catches them in the dugout, chatting, high-fiving; or out on the field chest bumping and smacking each other’s butts. It warms my heart when you can tell that men really love each other.

7. Vin Scully.

In times when my life is uncertain, I’m working multiple part-time jobs trying to make ends meet, hoping that one could turn into something full-time, but also praying to God that they don’t so I won’t have to make a decision, I can count on the Dodgers to make life a little more enjoyable.

What do yo love about the Dodgers?

Categories: Dudes, Heart on My Sleeve, Life in Lists, My Story | Tags: , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Viva Los Dodgers!

  1. Aunt Michele (and sponsor)

    While I do take issue with the whole music thing (it’s definitely got to be somewhere before the Dodgers) It’s nice to see you back on the blog. I’ve been waiting for what seems like an eternity.

  2. Their uniforms. And Vin Scully, he’s the best thing about the Dodgers EVER and FOREVER.

  3. Aunt Mary

    I can’t begin to tell you how very proud I am that you have your priorities in order. (Sorry, Michele!) I don’t believe there’s enough space here for me to put all the things I love about my Dodgers, but I will say that I agree with everything you wrote (yes, Andre Ethier is beautiful to watch in so many ways!). I’ll also add that Dodgers are more than an obsession for me … when I got divorced, the only things that mattered at the time were that I got custody of my baby and custody of my Dodger tickets! Everything else was just stuff.

    I had no idea you shared my passion to this extent – now, I can’t wait to go to a game with you! GO BLUE!!!!!!!!

  4. the wonder herself

    The Dodgers have always been my number one sports team (though I have never been a huge professional sports follower). But this fan-dom as it exists now is more or less new found. As I said, living outside of LA for a couple years made me appreciate the city and all the things that it stands for, Dodger baseball is one of those things. Plus, when things in my life are a little bit in the air, it’s nice to have something that is consistent and purely enjoyable.

  5. Aunt Kate

    I love the Dodgers for lots of reasons – some you mentioned and more of my own (lots of 7th and 8th grade memories!) I don’t follow like I used to, but I could never root, root, root for another team.
    I especially love that they let you bring in your own bottled soda, as long as you haven’t opened it yet. D’Backs stink! Go Blue 🙂

Whaddaya think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

