The Back Story

I spent the past two years of my life, after graduating with a degree in English Literature, in a full-time volunteer program. I lived in community, with other recent grads, sharing a bank account, making enough to live on, plus eighty-five additional dollars a month for life’s frills. Everybody in the program works for a local non-profit in the city they live in. Placements include, but are not limited to homeless shelters, schools, immigrant/refugee services, crisis centers, free clinics, the list goes on. To learn more about the program check out www.jesuitvolunteers.org or www.jvcnorthwest.org. To learn more about my specific experiences check out www.madsinomak.blogspot.com.

With a background in community service during college, my demonstrated commitment to the work that I do (I did it essentially for free), and with a history of things working out for me, I naively thought a job back at home would simply materialize. Three months, countless applications and follow-up phone calls later, I find myself with a plethora of material for a blog about the life of an unemployed. I know I’m not the only one out there, so if you know someone else who is, you are yourself, or you have some romanticized vision of what life unemployed would be like, please stick around for the real life accounts of a girl without a job.

Categories: My Story | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Whaddaya think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

